Feeling Like A Fool (after streaming 48 minutes of FAIL!)

August 1, 2009 at 4:59 pm (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , )

Ok ok, I gotta make this post quick…got places to be later and time is a-wasting! I really really REALLY wasn’t excited to sing Shaimus’ “Like A Fool” for the blog. Like most of the songs in the free 20 pack, this track doesn’t get played at my place unless some random BQPer bereft of any paid DLC picks it. Even after hearing/singing it several times, I still couldn’t consistently home in on the charted pitch, and my continuing failure to “get” this song on vox was so frustrating and discouraging that I avoided it whenever possible. However, my readers had spoken, and there was nothing for me to do but mentally roll up my sleeves and get to work!

Before starting my first run, I decided that I needed as much moral support as possible for this endeavor, so I turned on my stream and tweeted to my buddies that the game was afoot! I already had a small audience when I completed my initial attempt with a 95%, having missed 11 phrases total. Since I was weak through so many parts of the song, I decided to continue singing the entire track on my subsequent attempts, even if I missed a phrase early on. Clearly the entire song needed a lot of improvement if I was going to succeed…

On my second try, I missed fewer phrases, but scored a 94%! During the notetaking session where I analyze what I missed on each attempt while watching the unedited full-session video, I went back and tallied the ratings of what I missed on these first 2 runs to see if that could give me a clue as to how I could score a higher percent when flubbing more phrases. I found that while I messed up in more places on the first try, I did so with consistently better ratings (7 Strong, 3 Okay, 1 Messy) than on the second attempt (4 Strong, 3 Okay, 2 Messy, 1 Weak). Ok, at least that made some sense now. You might be amused to know that I got those Messy ratings on the second try because of a coughing fit that crept up on me about 2/3 of the way through the song, heh. Literal choking FTL!

With my growing UstreamTV audience (why do they watch? I have NO idea!) cheering me on I slogged through the song another 5 times before getting to a point where I was capable of finishing with a -1. During this series of attempts, I had issues most consistently with phrases 30 (“A lookin’ for something”), 35 (highest-pitched “Like a fool I look around for an answer”), and 36 (“With my head in my hands”), but they were not my only trouble spots by far! Innocuous lines that I’d sail past without issue on earlier runs would suddenly rear up and leave me bewildered in their wake with a Strong or Okay rating. My lack of consistency on this tune was beyond annoying, gah!

But, I’m nothing if not determined, and there was no way this song was going to go down as my first failure. Heck, we hadn’t even hit the one hour mark! And we never did, because on the 11th go-round, I finished “Like A Fool” with a 100% score and a sigh of relief that I didn’t have to listen to the track any more after hearing it for 52 minutes nonstop! Ok ok, I grinned and did a little happy dance too, satisfied?! Now go watch the video – featuring me plumbing the depths of my vocal range in a way nature never intended…if you DARE! Muahahahahahaha!

1 Comment

  1. Snap Wilson said,

    Really nice job. This is a tough one, and an hour doesn’t seem so long to get it nailed down, especially when you can’t practice distinct phrases (thank goodness the Beatles game corrects this). Can’t imagine there are many songs you’ll find harder.

Leave a Reply

