I Know I Won’t Be Leaving Here With(out) My FC

August 14, 2009 at 4:47 pm (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , , )

Ah, another day of choosing my own song to FC without audience input, yays! It’s so nice to be able to sing a song for the blog just because I like the sound of it, ya know? Especially since my readers always seem to want to throw me (what they consider) challenging songs that they hope will take me hours of work to FC. Real nice, guys! So yeah, my reasoning behind picking Franz Ferdinand’s “Take Me Out” was basically, because I felt like it! Hey, its my blog, I don’t NEED a better excuse!

I hadn’t sung “Take Me Out” too many times since downloading it, but did have a 99% score entered for it on ScoreHero before making it my FC pick. Obviously, scoring 98% on my initial run of the night was a bit of a step down, but I wasn’t too concerned. The only thing I noticed that really needed work was getting my voice low enough to sing the “With you” phrases with enough breath so that the game would register the hit properly. Looks like a job for…*insert fanfare here*…octave shifting!

I ended up restarting the song 2 more times before getting my FC – though the 2nd of these hardly counted as a real attempt because I was experimenting with singing in a higher octave. While my final score was pretty respectable, the FC had come so easily that I figured there was no harm in giving it another shot to see if I could squeeze more points from my overdrive activations. Unfortunately, a higher score eluded me, & the best I was able to manage on any subsequent attempt was 211,344 – 212 points lower than what I scored on my 5th try! Oh well. No biggie really, after all, 4th place is still a pretty good place to be, if I do say so myself!

1 Comment

  1. ksuhr said,

    Nice! There are a bunch of songs I shift the octave on (usually up, but occasionally down). There are also a couple where I have to shift back and forth for certain parts of the song. It makes me a little sad to see my high score on those knowing that to real human ears I sounded crappy. I guess I could become a better vocalist by learning to sing those all high, right?

Leave a Reply

