I Made This Half-Pony Half-Monkey Monster To Please You

August 31, 2009 at 3:24 am (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , , )

Hmm, it looks like I’m having one of those days where it’s taking me longer to formulate the first sentence of my blog post than it did to FC the song I’m writing about. Oh goody! Honestly, a lot of the time there isn’t anything particularly compelling about the logic behind my daily song selection, but if I didn’t write an intro paragraph I’d barely have an article at all! Jonathan Coulton’s “Skullcrusher Mountain” got its shot at the spotlight because the lyrics make me smile. Pretty much the whole reason in a nutshell right there. Nerdy songs about mad scientists = awesome, there’s just no arguing with that!

Yet again, I kept the game’s vocal track as low as possible while singing. On my first attempt, I tried early on to stay in one octave as the pitch went higher, but all I did was strain my voice and break my streak. Without Jonathan Coulton’s singing to imitate, I quickly found that I was most comfortable (and consistent) singing the lower phrases in a higher octave, and the higher phrases in a lower one. The abruptness of some of these octave switches gave my final rendition an almost schizophrenic feel, as if 2 people were singing instead of just one. I suppose that is kind of fitting though, considering the song’s subject matter!

Despite (or perhaps because of) the audio oddity factor, this FC’s video is a great example of how we Rock Band vocalists sometimes have to sing in a completely unnatural manner to ensure full credit by the game’s scoring engine. Oh, the things we do to ourselves just to gain a silly game’s approval!

“Skullcrusher Mountain” ScoreHero Wiki page. Optimal path: 4/sk1, 4/sk2 (BOD) EwO. Total tries: 2. Time: just under 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

