Let Me Hear Your Balalaikas Ringing Out!

October 3, 2009 at 7:58 pm (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , , , , )

Got started on last night’s FC of “Back In The U.S.S.R.” unaccountably early in the evening, so I had a large amount of time at my disposal to hone my squeezes using internetguy87’s 2/BBM, 4/sk1 path. Yays! Well, kinda…

For some unknown reason, I flailed on some of the simple phrases at the beginning of the song during my first few attempts. After I passed that inexplicable hurdle, there were still 3 phrases at the end of the song I knew from previous experience I’d struggle with: the “Oh” preceding “Show me ’round the snow-peaked mountains…”, “Oh let me tell you honey”, and the song’s final phrase, “Yeah, back in the U.S.S.R”. The first of these I conquered after a couple of failed tries, but the latter two proved much more difficult for me to hit with consistency, thus remaining potential choke points for each run. Fun times, fun times!

Nevertheless, I managed my first FC of “Back In The U.S.S.R.” about 21 minutes into the session, with a score that would have qualified for 5th place on ScoreHero’s leaderboards. That was ok…but not good enough! Now it was squeezing time! Over the next 35 minutes, I completed 4 more 100% runs with successively improving scores, eventually tieing the 1st placeholder! Whoopee! I knew, however, that I’d managed to squeeze more than 420 points out of the first BM activation on a couple of tries where I’d messed up later in the song, so I continued for another half hour in hopes of earning a first place score that was exclusively my own.

I came close a couple of times – squeezing as much as 460 points from that first activation on one notable occasion – but was unable to complete an FC with an optimally squeezed second activation on any of these attempts, resulting in a final score lower than my 183,420 run. Eventually I got really hungry since I didn’t eat before starting the night’s singfest, and the headache proved too distracting to allow me to continue, so I accepted my tied-for-first score and quit the game in favor of dinner. Mmmmmm, dinner!

1 Comment

  1. john said,

    Hi,just leaving a message to say I enjoy your reading your blogs.Amusing to read.Are you a writer by profession?
    Good job on the FCs

Leave a Reply

