No Time To Think About What She’s Done

October 30, 2009 at 12:27 am (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , , )

Yesterday evening was chock full of activity pretty much from the moment I left work, which explains why it took me so long to get my last post published. Before even getting home, I had to stop by my local temporary Halloween costume superstore and find something, ANYTHING to wear on Saturday! With that task out of the way, I arrived at my abode, started some laundry (stupid work sprung a dress code on me 3 weeks after I got hired and now all I can wear is black & white, ugh!) and then let my dog out of his crate, at which point he totally freaked out, running to and fro around my living room in an extra-spastic manner, even for him. Turns out he’d had his first potty accident in his crate since he was a baby, so it was time for an emergency puppy bath, oh what fun! Once I got him cleaned up and dry, it was time to tackle my chosen song of the night (“And She Was” by Talking Heads) so that I could get in a little co-op Borderlands playtime before my friends logged off. Don’t even get me started on how hard it is to coordinate online gameplay with buddies who have “normal” schedules, sheesh!

“And She Was” definitely proved a trickier song to FC than I anticipated…I actually picked it thinking I could quickly earn a decent score on it, giving me more time for Borderlands action. Boy was I wrong! When all was said and done, I’d spent well over an hour grinding this track before giving up and settling for a run I completed about 24 minutes after I started. The reason for all the time I wasted after getting my 2nd place (on ScoreHero) FC? Well, I was pushing myself to get a better squeeze on the second activation of skidog71’s 2/, 3/, 2/, 3/sk2 path, as is my habit, and about 15 minutes after finishing what would eventually become my “keeper” attempt, I managed to earn an extra 40 points than I had before, which would have given me 1st place over RJUCPU by the smallest of margins, had I actually finished the song with 100%. The real kicker is that I didn’t mess up on a later phrase or even screw up my path, but somewhere along the line I became convinced that I HAD mispathed and restarted, only to realize about 10 seconds later that I pulled the plug on what was, up to that point, a perfectly good run! Argh! I spent about another 40 minutes trying to replicate that miracle squeeze, but just couldn’t do it. Rest assured, I’m STILL kicking myself over that blunder! *bangs head against wall*

Squeezing info:
(Actual FC – 2nd place on SH)
2/ (+0), 3/ (+3284), 2/ (+0), 3/sk2 (+0)
58000 / 121284 / 161284 / 253284 => 253,284 (-36)*

(Combination of best squeezes during session)
2/ (+0), 3/ (+3324), 2/ (+0), 3/sk2 (+0)
58000 / 121324 / 161324 / 253324 => 253,324 (+4)*

*points below/above 1st place on SH for 360

2 Comments

  1. RedIon1992 said,

    Video doesn’t match post…

    • deadlystingnyc said,

      Oops! Thanks, had tonight’s vid in there instead of the one the post is about, fixed now. That’s what happens when you blog tired, i guess :-P

Leave a Reply

