Wilder Baby Smile And You’ve Just Made A Million

November 20, 2009 at 12:28 am (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , , )

Been having a little bit of difficulty picking songs to do for the blog lately, especially on work nights. There are a TON of song’s I’d like to tackle, but I’m limited to picking stuff that shouldn’t present a huge time-consuming challenge because there simply aren’t enough free hours in the day. I was hoping to continue my recent string of exported Lego Rock Band tracks, but the few songs left on that list that I know well enough to sing with confidence have tricky optimal paths with OD windows that are difficult to activate, or even impossible without using a technique known as the “guide button trick”, which I personally consider a cheat and refuse to try. But even if I didn’t have anything against the guide button trick, I wouldn’t want to use it because a) you have to pause the game mid-song, which would ruin the resulting FC video, and b) I never hold the controller when I sing. It just feels…I dunno…wrong, I guess.

So, with my self-imposed song selection limitations in mind, I scrolled through my list of DLC while simultaneously checking ScoreHero to see if I already had 100% entries on anything that struck my fancy. Duran Duran’s “Girls On Film” was the first track I happened upon that fit the bill, so I decided to give it a go and see how well I could do. Since “Girls On Film” was released ages ago, there were a lot more entries on ScoreHero than there had been for any of the tracks I’d FC’d in the preceding week, including a top score by Billtvshow, who I knew I had no hope of beating. In light of this, I decided to be happy with the first top 5 score I mustered before even starting my session. Fortune must have been smiling on me and my modified ambitions, because I FC’d the track on my 2nd attempt, and managed to take 3rd place on the leaderboards to boot! That’s right, my entire “Girls On Film” session lasted less than 9 minutes! Short & sweet baby, that’s how mama likes it!

Path:
3/sk2, 2/sk4, 2 (Icemage)

Squeezing info:
3/sk2 (+1060), 2/sk4 (+2184), 2/ (+0)
59060 / 120619 / 156619 => 172,619 (-392)*

*points below/above 1st place on SH for 360

Leave a Reply

