Your Very First Kiss Was Your First Kiss Goodbye

November 24, 2009 at 11:44 pm (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , , )

I was a bit wary of attempting to FC Bon Jovi’s “You Give Love A Bad Name” for the blog (even though I’ve been wanting this song in Rock Band FOREVER!), mostly because the optimal path on record had an asterisk next to the first activation notation. Usually this means that you have to use the oh-so-evil guide button trick to get OD to deploy, but the path’s contributor posted in the forums that his asterisk simply meant the window was difficult to activate normally rather than impossible, and that no guide button trick was needed. I figured I’d give it a whirl and see exactly how tough it was, especially since the finicky window came on the first activation in the path, rather than the 2nd or 3rd.

Turns out, I never once had an issue initiating overdrive on that 1st activation, though I DID find it impossible to get full point credit for the phrase immediately following that supposedly tricky window. The best I was able to manage on that phrase in the half hour I worked on “You Give Love A Bad Name” was 6 points shy of the full 8k, and that wasn’t even on my best run of the session! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I never had this much trouble getting full credit on specific phrases before importing the Lego Rock Band tracks. I’m not saying there’s any kind of cause & effect going on here, but my suspicions on the matter grow stronger every time I find another song that has this particular issue. Poop I say, poop poop poopity poop! Ah well, I was still able to take 1st place for the track, so I guess losing those points didn’t really hurt me much in this case. But still…POOP!

Path:
2/sk1*, 2/sk1, 3/ (LucasPWNS8907)

Squeezing info:
2/sk1* (+100), 2/sk1 (+0), 3/ (+124)
46088 / 102088 / 174212 => 182,212 (0)*

*points below/above 1st place on SH for 360

Leave a Reply

