Take A Bright Star And A-Place It On Your Forehead

November 29, 2009 at 8:30 pm (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , , )

Hmm, what to say about FCing T-Rex’s “Ride A White Swan”, the latest in my mini-run of LRB export tracks? Well, it took less than 10 minutes to get through my first 100% run, and within 15 minutes of starting, I’d taken the 1st place spot in the ScoreHero rankings. So why did I keep going for another 20 minutes?

For starters, I was switching off between the 2 different paths noted for this song in the SH DLC paths thread, trying to figure which (if either) would allow for better squeezing. After a few runs with each, I settled on the path that didn’t contain an early window activation. Hate those things, grrrr!

Also, I’d managed to (yet again) lose some points off the first phrase following an OD activation, meaning my score didn’t reflect the true benefit of my squeezes. It seems to be a common thread that I most often lose points on phrases just after activating overdrive, and generally in cases where I somehow activate late enough to get an unusually large squeeze as OD runs out. When I play it safe and activate a little earlier, I don’t seem to lose those same points, but I also don’t get the same kind of return on my squeezes. At any rate, I spent a good 20 minutes trying to meet or beat my best score with a better-sounding-non-point-losing run before calling my existing high score good enough. And to think, I could have been done in 13 minutes! I really have to stop being so competitive with this thing, don’t I? It would sure save me a ton of time!

Path:
3/sk1, 2/BOD (rastabot1)

Squeezing info:
3/sk1 (+172), 2/BOD (+100)
80172 / 137494 => 145,494 (0)*

*points below/above 1st place on SH for 360

Leave a Reply

