Don’t Sell Your Heart Don’t Say We’re Not Meant To Be

December 4, 2009 at 12:28 am (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , , )

I don’t recall if I played “Check Yes Juliet” by We The Kings in LEGO Rock Band before embarking on my mission to FC it for the blog last night. I chose it mostly because the sample that plays in the selection menu – the chorus – seemed to fit my range and didn’t sound too difficult. I didn’t realize just how bouncy and fun the song was until my first attempt, and I have to admit it was a pleasant surprise! However, my journey to FC-dom proved a bit more complicated than expected…

First off, I had to familiarize myself with the song, and identify any troublesome areas. The easiest to spot was the verse immediately following the second chorus, where a) the melody is different from any other part of the song, which is otherwise incredibly repetitive, and b) the singer’s voice is easily drowned out by the instrumental track. Jacking the vocal track up helped me figure out what to sing during that bit (not well, mind you, but well enough for the game to accept), and after that it was all down to pathing…and conquering the song’s one repeating phrase that I’d randomly stumble over: “Don’t sell your heart”.

I’d most often mess up the one immediately following my 2nd OD activation, just after the low-pitched version of the chorus, but my flailing certainly wasn’t limited to that instance of the phrase! Singing this particular line accurately was also important because it’s sung during the squeeze portion of the path’s 1st OD activation, and of course, the more accurate you are on a squeeze phrase, the more points you stand to gain! In the hour I worked on “Check Yes Juliet” I never really got a series of decent squeezes strung together in a single run, but I was (mostly) satisfied with my 3rd place showing…especially since a quick look at my session video revealed that if I HAD gotten all my best squeezes in one playthrough I’d have taken the top spot by over 200 points! Hooray for proving that this song’s potential hasn’t yet been fully tapped!

Path:
4/sk2, 2/BOD, 2/sk1 (internetguy87)

Squeezing info:
(Actual FC – 3rd place on SH)
4/sk2 (+1720), 2/BOD (+444), 2/sk1 (+3760)
135720 / 208164 / 259924 => 259,924 (-128)*

(Combination of best squeezes during session – 1st place on SH)
4/sk2 (+1720), 2/BOD (+588), 2/sk1 (+3968)
135720 / 208308 / 260276 => 260,276 (+224)*

*points below/above 1st place on SH for 360

Leave a Reply

