And I Don’t Want To Spend My Whole Life Just Awaiting For You

February 6, 2010 at 11:57 pm (Rock Band) (, , , , , , , , )

Song: Walking On Sunshine – Katrina And The Waves

Game: Rock Band 2

Path:
(Attempted) 4/sk1, 3/* (SakuraSylph)

(Used) 4/sk1, 4/

Session length: 1:14:41

Total # of FCs during session: 3

ScoreHero rank (at time of entry): 2nd

Squeezing info:
(Actual FC)
4/sk1 (+1744), 4/ (+3196)
127744 / 231940 => 231,940 (-4056)*

(Combination of best squeezes during session)
4/sk1 (+1744), 4/ (+3324)
127744 / 232068 => 232,068 (-3928)*

*points below 1st place on SH for 360

With the week almost over, I resigned myself to the fact that I’d have to deal with “Walking On Sunshine”, which won my latest readers’ choice poll. For those of you who don’t know why I’ve been procrastinating on this one, it all comes down to the pesky little asterisk in the optimal path. Basically, that asterisk means that the activation window is notoriously difficult to deploy, sometimes even impossible without resorting to tactics such as the “guide button trick”. Since that would require me to pause mid-song, it’s a strategy I simply won’t use (sorry, but it feels like an exploit, and in my gaming book exploit = cheat). I know it shouldn’t matter whether I get a decent score on any of my FCs, but it bothers me to know going into a session that barring divine intervention, there’s no hope of even approaching the high scores others have achieved. I guess deep down I feel that scoring well makes up for sounding like ass a lot of the time.

Anyway, I still had to tackle “Walking On Sunshine”, asterisk or no. I worked on the song for a while after finishing last night’s FC, trying different mic sensitivity settings to see if I could get that dang window to deploy (I couldn’t), and playing around with alternate paths. I found a path that brought me within 2k of the 1st place-holder, but my score didn’t save because I paused the game on the “New Song/Replay/Quit” screen, intending to try further after a short break, and my universal remote shut down the Xbox when I turned off the TV a while later. D’oh! With my highest score so much dust in the electronic wind, I deleted the video & screenshots from the session and vowed to finish this thing once and for all the following day.

So, when I started my new session earlier today, I decided that I was going to stick to the official path, and carry on with the “mispath” if I failed to activate the finicky OD window, rather than using a path of my own devising. Ha, “if”! I guess hope really does spring eternal, huh? I switched to a different microphone and once again played around with my mic settings between every restart, trying in vain to find something that might get that window to deploy, but all my efforts were in vain. In all honesty, I think I’ve had that window work once in all the times I’ve sung this song, and that was during BQP or Score Duel…certainly never in solo mode, I can tell you that for sure! Not expecting any miracles, at this point I was simply shooting for the best score I could get with the “if you miss the tricky window” path, but even there I ran into a surprising issue.

You see, after I’d been working on the song for about 40 minutes or so, I found it increasingly difficult to get the path’s 1st activation window to deploy, though I’d had no problem with it at the start of my session. Even activating way earlier than I had been didn’t get the thing to go off. It was incredibly frustrating, but also just plain weird. Then I recalled similar declines in OD window sensitivity during some of my recent lengthier sessions. Hmmmm. This time, instead of simply restarting the track, I exited to the song list and re-entered “Walking On Sunshine”. Lo and behold, my 1st OD window worked again, and I soon finished a run that I considered respectable both performance and score-wise. Phew!

Interesting discovery though…I may have to make a habit of exiting to the song list if my sessions run over half an hour. Ha, there’s that silly “if” poking it’s head out again! Silly silly “if”, how you make me laugh!

Leave a Reply

